Send Your Suggestions and Feed backs to

Oct 6, 2010

Walsh, Garner and Heyhoe Flint to be inducted into ICC Cricket Hall of Fame

The ICC and the Federation of International Cricketer Associations (FICA) today announced the four newest inductees to the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame.

West Indies fast bowlers Courtney Walsh and Joel Garner, along with the late Ken Barrington of England, will join the 60 male members of the Hall of Fame* while England's Rachael Heyhoe Flint becomes the first woman to be inducted.

Walsh, Garner and Heyhoe Flint will attend the LG ICC Awards this evening at the Grand Castle and will be inducted by one of the original 55 inductees, Bishan Bedi, who will also be receiving his commemorative cap this evening.
The late Ken Barrington will be inducted in the UK next summer in a ceremony involving the former batsman's family.

The ICC Cricket Hall of Fame is a joint venture with FICA set up in 2009, the ICC's Centenary year.

FICA Chief Executive Tim May said of this evening's inductions: "All four of those named today thoroughly deserve the accolade and of being part of the elite group that form the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame in association with FICA. "I congratulate all four inductees but I would particularly like to acknowledge Rachael Heyhoe Flint for becoming the first female cricketer to be inducted into the Hall of Fame."


No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts