Send Your Suggestions and Feed backs to

Aug 18, 2010

For the First Time, ICC include a "people's choice award"

Seven players feature in the long lists of each of the three major categories for the seventh annual ICC Awards. Hashim Amla, Jacques Kallis, MS Dhoni, Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, Shane Watson and Doug Bollinger are all nominated for the Cricketer of the Year and the Test and ODI awards in the list of nominees released by the ICC today. The awards ceremony will be held in Bangalore on October 6.
The nominations, which recognise cricketing achievement for the period between 24 August 2009 and 10 August 2010, were made by a five-man selection panel chaired by Clive Lloyd, chairman of the ICC cricket committee. The panel also includes former international players Angus Fraser, Matthew Hayden, Ravi Shastri and Duncan Fletcher.
This year's awards comprise nine individual prizes and three team awards and includes, for the first time, a "people's choice award" that will be decided by online fan votes.
ICC chief executive Haroon Lorgat said the awards were an opportunity for the ICC and the Federation of International Cricketers' Associations (FICA) to acknowledge and celebrate the remarkable performances of the world's top players.
The nominations
Cricketer of the year: Hashim Amla, Doug Bollinger, Michael Clarke, MS Dhoni, Ryan Harris, Mitchell Johnson, Jacques Kallis, Morne Morkel, Ricky Ponting, Kumar Sangakkara, Virender Sehwag, Dale Steyn, Sachin Tendulkar, Daniel Vettori, AB de Villiers and Shane Watson
Test player of the year: Hashim Amla, James Anderson, Mohammad Asif, Doug Bollinger, MS Dhoni, Tamim Iqbal, Mahela Jayawardena, Jacques Kallis, Simon Katich, Kumar Sangakkara, Thilan Samaraweera, Virender Sehwag, Dale Steyn, Graeme Swann, Sachin Tendulkar and Shane Watson
ODI player of the year: Hashim Amla, Doug Bollinger, MS Dhoni, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Ryan Harris, Michael Hussey, Jacques Kallis, Ricky Ponting, Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar, AB de Villiers, Daniel Vettori, Shane Watson and Cameron White
Emerging player of the year: Mohammad Amir, Umar Akmal, Tim Bresnan, Steven Finn, Shafiul Islam, Ravindra Jadeja, Virat Kohli, Angelo Mathews, Eoin Morgan, Pragyan Ojha, Tim Paine, Wayne Parnell, Kemar Roac, Steven Smith, Paul Stirling and David Warner
Associate and Affiliate player of the year: Ashish Bagai, Richie Berrington, Muddassar Bukhari, Tom Cooper, Ryan ten Doeschate, Trent Johnston, Kevin O'Brien, Mohammad Shahzad, Samiullah Shenwari and Paul Stirling
Twenty20 international performance of the year: Suleiman Benn 4 for 6 v Zimbabwe, Deandra Dottin 112*v South Africa Women, Chris Gayle 98 v India, Michael Hussey 60*v Pakistan, Mahela Jayawardena 100 v Zimbabwe, Mahela Jayawardena 98* v West Indies, Nuwan Kulasekera 3 for 4 v New Zealand, Ryan McLaren 5 for 19 v West Indies, Brendon McMcllum 116* v Australia, Eoin Morgan 85* v South Africa, Nehemiah Odhiambo 5 for 20 v Scotland, Ellyse Perry 3 for 18 v New Zealand Women, Suresh Raina 101 v South Africa and Darren Sammy 5 for 26 v Zimbabwe
Women's Cricketer of the Year: Suzie Bates, Nicola Browne, Katherine Brunt, Sophie Devine, Jhulan Goswami, Lydia Greenway, Sarah McGlashan, Shelley Nitschke, Ellyse Perry, Laura Poulton, Mithali Raj, Gouher Sultana and Stafanie Taylor
Umpire of the Year: Billy Bowden, Aleem Dar, Steve Davis, Asoke de Silva, Billy Doctrove, Marais Erasmus, Ian Gould, Tony Hill, Daryl Harper, Rudi Koertzen, Asad Rauf, Simon Taufel and Rod Tucker


No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts